1 (edited by MamãoMutante 2022-11-29 17:53:48)

Topic: Is GNU IceCat dependent on Rust?

When trying to compile and install GNU IceCat from source, the following lines appear:

checking for rustc... not found
checking for cargo... not found
ERROR: Rust compiler not found.
To compile rust language sources, you must have 'rustc' in your path

I have tested this with versions 91.13.0 and 102.5.0 (latest) of IceCat, and both versions forbid me from proceeding with the compilation/installation due to missing Rust stuff.
I am not sure if there is an easy way to circumvent this. I have made a cheesy attempt to compile IceCat without using Rust by trying to delete all the files mentioning Rust from the source code, but this didn't work. As you can see, I am not very experienced in compiling software

Note 1: Didn't post this to the "Packages" section of the forum because there seems to be no IceCat package for Hyperbola
Note 2: I'm not sure if it's even possible to compile IceCat in Hyperbola because the compiling script is meant for Debian-based distros, such as the one I have used for this experiment. However, since this situation involves Rust, I still feel like it's relevant for the Hyperbola community and for other people trying to avoid Mozilla trademark restrictions. I am unable to attempt this experiment on Hyperbola as my current laptop is not compatible with FSF-endorsed distros.
Note 3: Even if GNU IceCat was compatible with Hyperbola and didn't need Rust packages in order to compile, Hyperbola's desire to not become dependent on unreliable upstreams might make GNU IceCat unsuitable for Hyperbola as it is based on the very questionable Mozilla Firefox. (I am aware that iceweasel-uxp was developed for a reason)

I hereby liberate ALL works of my own posted in the forums, to the fullest extent allowed, under the CC0+a waiver of all other restrictions
Promote love!

Re: Is GNU IceCat dependent on Rust?

Hyperbola is not supporting Rust in any way!